Contents
Last updated: March 23, 2019

The Collaboration rack contains a mix of physical and virtual devices though the vast majority are virtual machines. Both can be reset to a default state using the Device Management tab in the rack Control Panel during your rack session. Only the two phones can not be reset from the Device Management tab.

The Control Panel will allow you to only do one action at a time. This is done to prevent you from interrupting an active automation process running on your rack - i.e you would cause a Config Load to fail if you were to powercycle or reset the config for one of the routers. Once the action is completed you will be able to click on one of the devices in the rack and do another action.

Reset Virtual Machines

When you move your cursor over one of the devices on the Device Management tab in the Control Panel your cursor will change to a hand symbol.

caption

Clicking on one of the Cisco Collaboration servers or Windows virtual machines will bring up the device action menu which for VMs has a single option - Reset Config.

caption

Clicking the Reset Config will bring up a pop-up window asking your to confirm the action. Press OK to reset the VM to the default state.

caption

A brief progress bar will appear while the Control Panel waits for the automation to reply that the virtual machine has been reset.

caption

Resetting a VM only takes a few seconds to complete the action and then you can perform the Reset Config action on another virtual device. While this action only takes a few seconds, the virtual machine still needs to boot up before you will be able to access it and begin configuring it. Most of the Cisco Collaboration appliances consume a tremendous amount of CPU resources during their boot phase and take up to 19 minutes before you can reach their management interface. You should refrain from resetting a large number (more than 5) of the Cisco Collab server at the same time as this can increase the time it takes for them to boot.

The following chart is the amount of time that the Virtual Machines take to be able to be reachable on their GUI interface

Virtual Device Complete Boot Time Notes
Cisco Unity Connection 19 Minutes CLI available within a minute
Cisco Unified Contact Center Express 16 Minutes CLI available within a minute
CUCM Publisher 15 Minutes CLI available within a minute
CUCM SME Version 15 Minutes CLI available within a minute
Cisco IM and Presence 13 Minutes CLI available within a minute
CUCM Subscriber 11 Minutes CLI available within a minute
Cisco Expressway E 90 Seconds
Cisco Expressway C 90 Seconds
Cisco Meeting Server 30 Seconds GUI Interface needs to be configured by customer via CLI
Windows Server 2012 - DNS 30 Seconds
Windows 10 - Jabber 30 Seconds
Cisco Unity Express 20 Seconds

Reset Physical Devices

Almost all of the devices are reached via the networking provided by the three physical devices that provide the core networking for the rack. SW1 is the primary routing device that provides all the routing between the rack networks. When you reset the config on one of these physical devices (especially SW1) you will lose network connectivity to the Cisco Collaboration appliances and other VMs in the rack while the device is being reconfigured.

If you want to reset one of the physical devices (R1, R2 and SW1) in the rack to the default configuration you can do so through that devices action menu.

Hover over one of the physical devices and click on the device icon to show the available actions.

caption

Click on the Reset Config and a pop-up window where appear asking your to confirm the action. Press OK and the physical device will be reset to the default state using the device configuration from the Default Collaboration Config template.

caption

A progress bar will appear giving an estimated time until the reset is done. The progress bar is not linear and can jump from 0% to 100%.

caption

Since we reboot the physical devices when performing the Reset Config action, it can take between 7 and 8 minutes for the physical device to be reset. If the Reset Config action is not finished loading after 10 minutes, please reload the page in case you lost network access to the Rentals web page. You can also try connecting to one of the devices through the telnet portal racks.ine.com. If the telnet portal allows you to connect to the device, you know that your config is finished loading as the automation only allows you to connect once it is finished.

As mentioned previously, you can not do a Reset Config on another of the physical devices until the first one is done. The same holds true if you are loading a config onto the rack. You may however, do a Reset Config on one of the virtual machines while a physical device is being reset. If you wish to reset the configuration for all three physical devices, simply load the Default Collaboration Config template onto your rack. See the Loading Configurations into Your Routers and Switches page in the Rack Access Guide if you need more details on loading configurations.

^ back to top